Preschool or Glorified Daycare?

Standard

This might be the most personal post I have written to date. I’m writing, not to get everyone’s opinions (although I know they’re coming), but more to just vent and try to figure out a solution to my most current life-dilemma.

First off, I love everything about education. I loved school growing up, and I can already tell at least one of my children does too. It makes me happy to see that my kids can’t wait to begin school! I only pray that they will forever be as into it as they are right now in their teeny-tiny bodies.

Secondly, I absolutely adore being home with my children! I literally felt a little sick everytime I had to drop Kinley off at preschool last year. I don’t know if this is something that fades, but I don’t think for me it will – with any of my babes! Maybe this isn’t normal, maybe I am crazy… (Maybe we all already knew that? ;))

Finally, before I begin my actual post, I just want to say that I have truly been trying to wrap my head around what to do for months… it’s just now finally down to the wire, and I need to make a decision. So these are my current thoughts. Judge me if you must.

We have enrolled Kinley and Kruz in a preschool that has wonderful reviews, is actually the most affordable in the area, and that was highly recommended by friends that we totally trust! It’s Christian-based, which makes me so happy. The administrators, teachers, and fellow parents were all so kind when we visited… and it feels like a great fit. The kids would attend two days a week, three hours each day, and it would be an easy pick-up and drop-off because it’s all at the same place!

I realize that them getting out and socializing with children their own age is the entire point of preschool. I also realize that having a teeny-tiny break, with time to allow me to get to know Taisley a little better on a one-on-one basis would be extremely nice.

Above is “Option A”

PROS:
-We feel comfortable there.
-We have great reviews from trusting friends.
-We have the same views as the school itself.
-The kids get to socialize with children their own age.
-Both kids that beg to go to school.

CONS:
-Do new three year olds need to go to preschool?
-Does a pre-K student who did an entire year of preschool need to go a second year?
-Cost (Let’s be honest, we live on one income… and I stay home for a reason. Does it make sense to spend a substantial amount of money each month on 24 hours of preschool?)
-Not allowing them to go may take something away from them? (I don’t even know what… I’m trying to decide if this school is necessary for two years, or if it’s just become a new norm for some reason… mayeb because many households have two parents that work, and they need a place for their children to go for a while?)
-Would be paying for preschool even if missed to travel with Daddy.

So now we have “Option B”

Keep both children home, and teach Pre-K curriculum myself two days a week. I feel that the resources are endless thanks to Pinterest, ABC Mouse, friends, Barnes & Noble, the Dollar Store, iPads and apps, etc. etc. Then, during the other days of the week, enroll the kids in classes that allow them to explore fun activities. Activities such as dance, karate, soccer, art, etc. These programs are offered in our city, and for a fraction of the cost. They are all categorized by age, so they would still get that interaction. And on top of that, we can take advantage of free or cheap events around the area. The library does story time once a week, and there are museums and free field trips that I can arrange so that my kids can get to learn while exploring and going on different adventures. I should also throw in that we have the Zoo in San Diego, the Safari Park in Escondido, THE OCEAN nearby, aquariums-galore, wine country, parks, and fabulous weather.

PROS:
-We get to make our own schedule, which allows us to travel with daddy as wanted.
-Cost is significantly decreased, which allows for saving or paying of any debts.
-I get one more year with my babies!
-I get to help mold my children into the little beings they will become.
-They would get to experience more outdoor, or hands-on activities.
-They get to explore what they want to learn.
-Take advantage of what this city has to offer.

CONS:
-No break or one-on-one with Taisley until Tanner is home.
-Kids may be disappointed to not go to school.
-Kids may learn better from an instructor, rather than mom.
-Kids need to know it’s okay to be away from home and make friends and be in different social-settings.

Honestly, after visiting the South and the Midwest, and learning that many cities there offer free preschool, or at least a lot more affordable preschool made me feel like I was getting robbed. I think a lot more emotion stemmed when I felt like I was being cheated just because we live in California. And so I researched and have listened to many other parent’s opinions, and I just can’t make one myself.

I feel like Kruz could benefit from being in a school setting socially, but I am alsso not sure he’s ready. I was told by Kinley’s teacher that she was very bored at preschool… so why do it again. We read frequently, practice letter and word recognition, cook together, explore at parks, beaches, the library, different cities (when traveling with T)… and I just feel like keeping them home is keeping their innocence a little longer! I swear Kinley became even more sassy after she began school.

I’m not saying I want to homeschool… I just don’t know if preschool is super-necessary right now. I think maybe one year is sufficient. On one hand, I think it’s smart to have your children in a school setting before Kindergarten, because they’ll know what school is about, in that same breath though, why can’t they just learn that at Kindergarten?

So there you have it… my thought-process and my craziness when it comes to being a mother. Remember, this is just my own situation. I realize each family is unique and has their own thoughts on the above scenarios. What works for you may not work for me.
I’m just trying to organize my thoughts. These children are my life, and I just want to make the best decision for them and their future.

My deadline is Friday. I’ll keep you all posted! 🙂

preschool4 preschool2 preschool DSC_2371

Leave a comment