Mommy Blogging on a Plane

Standard

Nashville Recap Ya’ll!

Balance in life is just so important. When I was a first-time mama, I didn’t always put my marriage first, because I was always tired, trying to finish school, and because I felt that the baby was more important. That’s the wrong way of thinking. It’s easy to get stuck in a rut in your marriage sometimes. That’s why it’s so so important to remember to cherish your marriage, and really guard it and protect it.

My husband (T) and I are beyond blessed to have a family that helps us out with keeping our babes from time-to-time so we can reconnect. It’s just awesome.

On this particular trip, I was a little nervous because I had to fly from Iowa to Nashville alone, which required driving to the airport at 3:00am and leaving my babes away from our home. My stress level is always particularly high on a day I travel alone. It’s weird, but I’m actually better at navigating my way through the airport or a new city with my Trupe in tow. I focus better in the middle of my own chaos!

My anxiety halted though, the minute I got outside of the airport and saw my hubs leaning on the back of his rental car waiting for me. After he greeted me with a kiss, loaded my bag, and opened my car door for me, it was impossible not to just smile my cares away, and be happy in the ambiance of Nashville with my guy!

After breakfast, I was able to visit where he stayed and trained for his job for several weeks last year. I also got to meet some of his co-workers. It’s always nice to put a name to a face. I like seeing T in his work element . There’s something so sexy about his passion for what he does. When his nerdy side comes out, it’s my fav!

I got a little alone time while he finished some work, so I decided to go boot shopping. I’m not a cowgirl, but I wanted cowgirl boots! I like theming (as everyone knows) and boots were on my Nashville theme list! I had a hay day trying on a bazillion pairs… But I couldn’t get myself to fork over the $200 plus on a pair that I might wear 10 times. I mean my running shoes didn’t even cost that much, and they serve a fabulous purpose. I am thinking I will start a boot fund though, because I definitely want a pair for our next trip to Nashville! If you’d like to donate, let me know! πŸ˜‰

We went to dinner on a dock with an old friend, his gorgeous girlfriend, and Bear, their adorable son! We got to feed ducks, catfish, and eat delicious food! It was peaceful and enjoyable.

We figured we’d take it easy the first night… But yeah right. When the kiddies are away… The mama and daddy will play! So we did Nashville right by heading to Broadway! We made tons of new friends, sang, and danced the night away! It was totally fab!

The next morning came slightly too fast… And with a pounding headache! Luckily, we were able to sleep in and relax all day! I tried my first ever Wich Wich… And it was amazeballs! I had the “Thank You Turkey” hotwich. It’s basically thanksgiving dinner on a toasted sub complete with cranberries and it cured my hangover in no time!

After a little sunbathing and a shopping trip, we topped our day off with a trip to Jack’s!… It’s just the best bbq you’ll ever eat! So if you go, it’s touristy… But worth the wait!

On night two in Nashville we headed out to see our old friend Cory Farley play at a local bar on Broadway. It was just a blast! Some of he people we met the night before joined us, and that made it even better! If you ever get a chance to see this band perform, go for it! You won’t be disappointed!

I’m thankful that my hubby and I are outgoing folks who can easily make new friends. On our 6am flight home, we met a man named Jimmy, and he totally cured my hangover. I’m forever grateful for his southern hospitality, sharing skills, and his great company. I wish there were more Jimmy’s in this world!

As I’m sitting here, I’m currently missing my babes like crazy! It’s amazing what a little break can accomplish… A taste of freedom makes me realize just how blessed I am to have my #PartyOfFive!

Thanks for reading ya’ll! πŸ™‚

20140712-102750-37670399.jpg

20140712-102750-37670562.jpg

20140712-102749-37669315.jpg

20140712-102749-37669692.jpg

20140712-102750-37670258.jpg

20140712-102751-37671120.jpg

20140712-102750-37670668.jpg

20140712-102751-37671983.jpg

20140712-102751-37671528.jpg

20140712-102749-37669079.jpg

Leave a comment